top of page

Redefining Love: God

The highest form of love is at our fingertips; agape. Agape love is the strong love between God and man.

I really can't describe agape with words, but I can with a picture.

A few years ago, on a hot July day, my family and I got the opportunity to take a short drive into Buffalo, New York, where the beautiful Niagara Falls bridge the way between the United States and Canada. It only being an hour away, you'd think I would have gone much sooner, but the only other time we went was when I was about four, and surprise-surprise, I remember very little from that trip. We went with another family from our congregation, and a visiting speaker's family as well.

The "Maid of the Mist," a boat ride they provided with the most irritating rain ponchos in the world (I got slapped a couple times by mine). The boat was incredibly crowded, and once in a while a great splash of water would jump out from the water, right into my face. Bad day to wear mascara, I thought to myself. Needless to say, I was not having a great time.

We finally got near to the falls, and a bone-chilling awe rushed down my spine. We were hundreds of yards away from the falls (for safety reasons, of course), but the mist was coating everyone just as if we were right next to the falls. The force of the falls was strong enough to send heavy mist our way, getting us wetter than I thought possible. I felt so completely small next to God's amazing creation. The turbulent journey was nothing compared to the beautiful end destination.

On our way back, we passed the Canadian side's boat, and we all waved to one another. It was truly a moment for my philosophical mind to run its course. Maybe I'm taking this too far, but all I could think of was, they're going to receive that reward I just did. I imagined God's love, like the waterfall, being so powerful that even from yards away, was still pouring over me. Yet that great waterfall, compared to God's love, was like a leaking faucet; it didn't hold a candle to God's love for us.

In Matthew 22:15-22, the Pharisees have challenged Jesus with a question: "Should we pay taxes to Caesar?" Jesus, pointing out Caesar's face on the coin, says:

And He said to them, “Render therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.”

We are to give back to God what is His. God has given us the ability to love. Love our fellow Christians (philia), love our spouses (eros), and our given blood family (storge). He has blessed us with this beautiful gift, and He wants more than anything to get it back from you. (Zech. 1:3).

If we truly love God, nothing should separate us from His arms. Unfortunately, Satan knows what looks best to us, enough to take our eyes off of Him. God understands this, and through it all, loves us with the same outpouring love as before. (1 John 4:10-11)

Do you truly and honestly feel that your love flows out more powerfully that a waterfall, just as God's does? Love fuels faith. If you are not as faithful as you should be, maybe you need to step back and redefine your love relationship between you and God. Pray to Him, talk with Him through His word. He will never get tired of your voice, your worries, your cries. He will never stop desiring you.

"Mercy, peace, and love be yours in abundance." - Jude 1:2

In Him,

Halle


bottom of page