top of page

A D.I.Y. Salvation

"(1)Jesus looked at them and said, 'With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.'"

-Matthew 19:26

I'm sure we have all tried a D.I.Y. project before. I'm sure we have all failed a D.I.Y. project before. Whether it's creating little bowl out of yarn, making your own cleaning product, or simply slapping duct tape on a broken object and exclaiming "fixed it!". We've all been down that road at least once in our lives, and some of us choose not to turn down that road again.

D.I.Y.s can be a good thing. They can save you money, and you can spend quality time with yourself, focusing on one task, and not worrying about another.

This is not the case with Christianity.

Christianity is a dying-to-self, living-for-Christ life. There is nothing in Christianity that you can do by yourself. If things aren't going good, pray to God for help. If things are going wonderful, pray to God for thanks.

You can not get through the hard times alone, and you did not get to the good times alone.

"(20)I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me."

-Galations 2:20

It is no longer us, yet Christ living in us. Every time I read this verse, it makes me want to cry. It is the message Jesus wants us to hear. We are to be crucified with Him, rising again to walk as Him, talk as Him, and live as Him. He is in us, He loves us, and gave Himself for us. The life we have here on earth is not by our own doing, but God's. We obtain salvation through His Son, and we walk by His guidance. We are His, and this knowledge and comfort should shield us from the desire to ever want to take on anything alone again.

However, we are a forgetful and covetous people. We push away that shield that is in front of us, forgetting who is holding it up. We set our sights on the allurements of the world, and want what we should not have. Sooner than later, we are miserable, empty, and in need of a Savior again.

God is just and eager to forgive, if we are willing to repent. (John 1:9). He will accept us back, and hold His shield before us, ready to fight the good fight. (1 Tim. 6:12).

Humble yourself, allow God to fight with you, and help you through. Focus on Him, and obey His commands. You cannot do it yourself.

Keep pressing on! Remember your mission in this life. Be the light you are to be.


bottom of page